117 more villages get electricity link

New Delhi: A total of 117 villages in 10 states were electrified during last week ending May 29, under the Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna, an official statement said on Monday. "Of these electrified villages, 11 are in Odisha, 23 in Jharkhand, 22 in Meghalaya, three in Uttar Pradesh, 18 in Arunachal Pradesh, five in Bihar, 26 in Assam, two in Chhattisgarh, six in Madhya Pradesh and one in Rajasthan," said the statement from the power ministry. A total of 7,991 villages have been electrified till date, it added. The government has decided to electrify the remaining 10,461 villages by May 1, 2018, the ministry said. "Out of the remaining 10,461 villages, 6,739 are to be electrified through grid, 2,911 villages are to be electrified through off-grid, where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers, and 356 villages are to be electrified by the state governments. 455 villages are now uninhabited," the statement added.