2002-03 Mumbai Blasts: Muzammil Ansari gets life imprisonment

Mumbai: A special POTA court on Wednesday pronounced verdict in the 2002-2003 Mumbai blasts case. 

While Muzammil Ansari got lifetime imprisonment, three others including Saquib Nachan, Ateef Mulla and Haseeb Mulla were awarded 10 years of jail sentences.

The POTA court on March 29 had convicted 10 of the 13 people for the blasts that occurred at three locations in Mumbai. Those who were convicted included- Saquib Nachan, Ateef Mulla, Hasib Mulla, Ghulam Kotal, Mohammed Kamil, Noor Malik, Anwar Ali Khan, Farhaan Khot, Dr. Wahid Ansari and Muzammil Ansari.

Earlier on Tuesday, special public prosecutor Rohini Salian demanded capital punishment for Muzammil Ansari, who had reportedly planted bombs. She also sought life imprisonment for the key accused Saquib Nachan, Gulam Khotal, Farhaan Khot and Dr Wahid Ansari.

Vinod Jagdale