A BIG blow for AAP: EC disqualifies 20 AAP MLAs for holding office of profit

New Delhi, Jan 19: The Election Commission has disqualified 20 AAP MLAs for holding office of profit. The recommendations have been sent to the President.  

The Office of Profit controversy started after the party's victory in the 2015 Assembly elections in Delhi. A petition filed by lawyer Prashant Patel sought the disqualification of the MLAs on the grounds that they were holding an 'office of profit' as parliamentary secretaries.

The plea by the MLAs to drop case against them was rejected by the Election Commission.