Breaking: Both TDP ministers resign from Modi Cabinet

New Delhi, March 8: Two TDP cabinet ministers in Modi government, YS Chowdary and Ashok Gajapathi Raju,  have tendered their resignations to PM Narendra Modi. The two ministers met the PM at 6 pm and submitted their resignations after a brief discussion.

Earlier, in a bid to save the TDP-BJP alliance, PM Narendra Modi had spoken to Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu. The TDP had announced its decision to quit Modi cabinet to protest Centre's refusal to grant special status to Andhra Pradesh.

TDP's decision came after Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said that special status for Andhra was not possible as per the recommendations of the 14th Finance Commission.

TDP has alleged that the Centre has done injustice, a charge that has been refuted by the BJP. "Centre has offered all benefits without giving this (special status) tag,” party spokesman  GVL Narsimha Rao said.