Congress MPs challenge vice president's dismissal of impeachment motion against CJI

New Delhi, May 7: Two Congress Parliamentarians from Rajya Sabha- Pratap Singh Bajwa and Amee Harshadray Yajnik, approached the Supreme Court challenging Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu's dismissal of the impeachment motion against CJI Dipak Misra
Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu had rejected the notice given by opposition parties led by the Congress for impeachment of CJI Dipak Misra citing lack of substantial merit in it.

Seven opposition parties led by the Congress had earlier moved a notice before him for impeachment of the Chief Justice of India (CJI) on five grounds of "misbehaviour".

Naidu had said in an order that he had detailed personal conversation on all the aspects arising from the notice and had considered each of the allegations made in it individually as well as collectively.

New24Bureau with Agencies