Dhoni invites Windies to bat in first T20I

Lauderhill, (Florida): India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field in the first of the two-match T20 International series against the West Indies at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground here on Saturday.

West Indies have been weakened with the absence of injured batting superstar Chris Gayle, but the match will witness the return of mystery spinner Sunil Narine.

For India, in-form batsman Lokesh Rahul will open the innings with Rohit Sharma while Shikhar Dhawan misses out in what is the men-in-blue's first outing on US soil.

The Central Broward Regional Park is the only International Cricket Council (ICC) recognised cricket ground in the country.

West Indies: Johnson Charles(WK), Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite (Captain), Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree

India: Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain, WK), Stuart Binny, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar