Govt announces 20 smart cities; none from UP, Bihar and WB

New Delhi: Out of the 98 cities selected under the 'Smart Cities Mission', the government on Thursday released a list of 20 smart cities, which will be the first to receive funds. However, none of the cities were selected from the big states Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal.


Announcing the list of first 20 winners in the Smart City challenge, Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu said that the “competition (of selecting first 20 smart cities) was as rigorous and demanding as the civil services competition conducted”, and that there was no role of government in the selection of top 20 cities for the contest.


To enhance the quality, performance, and interactivity of urban services so as to reduce costs and resource consumption and to improve contact between citizens and government, is what a ‘smart city’ aims to deliver. It is highly advanced in terms of overall infrastructure, sustainable real estate, communications and market viability.


In the next two years, the government will announce the inclusion of other states in two phase: 40 in 1st, and the remaining 38 in second. The government aims to reach its goal of 100 ‘smart cities’ by the year 2022 to provide accommodation the rising urban population, for which it will shell out Rs. 200 crore in the first year to each chosen city and Rs.100 crore every subsequent year.


A list of first 20 smart cities:

1. Bhubaneshwar, Odisha

11. Indore, Madhya Pradesh

2. Pune, Maharashtra

12. New Delhi Municipal Corporation

3. Jaipur, Rajasthan

13. Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

4. Surat, Gujarat

14. Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh

5. Kochi, Kerala

15. Belagavi, Karnataka

6. Ahmedabad, Gujarat

16. Udaipur, Rajasthan

7. Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh

17. Guwahati, Assam

8. Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

18. Chennai, Tamil Nadu

9. Solapur, Maharashtra

19. Ludhiana, Punjab

10. Davangere, Karnataka

20. Bhopal Madhya Pradesh