Happy Birthday Arvind Kejriwal.. Facts about Delhi CM you must know

Pancham Saude, New Delhi: "Akela chana bhad nahi phod sakta" Delhi's social activist turned politician proved it wrong, not once but twice, when he won 28 seats out of 70 seats in his first term, after which he decided to be the chief minister with Congress support, later on, he resigned with just 49 days of ruling, after which Delhi Assembly went through another poll, but this Kejriwal bounced backed hard on both BJP and Congress, getting 67 out of 70 seats, which was a worldwide record.

Here're some facts about Arvind Kejriwal 

He was born on Janmashtami (birth day of Lord Krishna), one day after the Independence day of India, 16th August  1968 in Siwani, Bhiwani district of Haryana. He belongs to a financially sound middle-class family.

He was also given nickname Munna by his parents.

Kejriwal is an IIT graduate from Kharagpur, and worked in the Indian Revenue Service as a Joint Commissioner of the Income Tax Department in New Delhi.

He met the love of his life Sunita Kejriwal, in civil services training period. Both joined IRS and later decided to marry and now have two children a girl and a boy. Harshita Kejriwal, who is the elder child has cleared IIT exam like his father, while his son Pulkit Kejriwal is still in school. 

Kejriwal is also received Ramon Magsaysay Award (Asia's Nobel Prize) in the year 2006 for Emergent Leadership recognising his involvement in the grassroots movement Parivartan using right to information legislation in a campaign against corruption. Later on, in the same year, he resigned from IRS and donated his Magsaysay award money to his NGO “Parivartan, as a corpus fund to found the Public Cause Research Foundation

After fighting as a social activist for public cause in Jan Lokpal headed by Anna Hazare, he found that they had no right to dictate terms to the elected representatives. So Kejriwal and other activists decided to enter politics and contest elections. 

In November 2012, they formally launched the Aam Aadmi Party and decided to contest the Delhi Legislative Assembly election, 2013, with Kejriwal contesting against the incumbent Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.

First Term In the 2013 Delhi elections for 70 seats, the BJP won 31 seats, followed by AAP with 28 seats. Kejriwal defeated incumbent Chief Minister, Sheila Dikshit of the Congress, in her constituency of New Delhi by a margin of 25,864 votes.

Chief Minister of Delhi (second term)

Kejriwal decided to go for re-election and led AAP to win 67 of the 70 seats in the 2015 Delhi elections, leaving the BJP with three seats and the INC with none.