Honda racers continue to impress in National championship

Chennai: Honda racers once again impressed by grabbing the top three positions in the CBR 250R team championship in Round 3 of the Honda One Make race in the National championship at the Madras Motor Race Track near here on Sunday.

In a race which witnessed the country's top 13 racers, last round's winner Mathana continued his rich vein of form to finish on top clocking 12:23:810 minutes.

Hari Krishnan R, who clocked the fastest lap of the race, was second (2:24:052 minutes), whereas Rajiv S. managed third position with a time of 00:12:33:133 minutes.

In the CBR 150R novice category, 2015 winner Anish D. Shetty (8.53.364) maintained his good run in the event, taking the pole position in a closely fought race ahead of Soorya P. M who ended in 8.53.692 minutes. Pisuh Ranjan with a time of minutes finished third.

The day also witnessed scintillating action in Race 2 of three new categories at the National Championship -- Stock up to 165cc, Pro Stock 165cc and Super Stock 165cc -- with Honda racers taking the top places in the last two categories.

All Ladies race winner Aishwarya P. was the lone woman rider in the Stock up to 165cc category on the day and the 21-year-old managed a 24th finish.