LIVE: Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman elections: Momentum building

New Delhi, August 9, News24 Bureau: There isn't much drama left in today's election for the post of deputy chairman after BJD's decision to support NDA candidate.After assurance from Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, who is also Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President, there is a ray of hope in the NDA camp. Patnaik had made it clear on Wednesday itself that his party will support the NDA canidate Harivansh Narayan Singh in the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson's election on Thursday. The BJD support is important as both the UPA and NDA don't have a majority in the upper house. the BJD has nine MPs in the Rajya Sabha. The Opposition parties have fielded Congress MP B.K. Hariprasad. Here are the LIVE updates:

-Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley congratulates Harivansh Narayan Singh

-PM Narendra Modi cites Harivansh Narayan Singh's achievements, both academic and political

-PM Narendra Modi congratulates NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh who was elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman 

-NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman with 125 votes, UPA's BK Hariprasad got 105 votes

-Harivansh Narayan Singh elected Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

-MPs voting for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman. Fencesitters move towards government

-Lobbies being cleared in Rajya Sabha, division of votes for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman elections to begin shortly 

-Arun Jaitley and other BJP MPs in Rajya Sabha ahead of voting for Deputy Chairman elections