LIVE Voting begins in Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, Nov 28:  Polling started for the assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram on Wednesday morning.Polling for 227 constituencies in Madhya Pradesh began at 8 am, while for three other constituencies started even earlier. In Mizoram, as many as 209 candidates are contesting to bag a seat in the 40-member Legislative Assembly. The Congress party, which has been in power in Mizoram since 2008, is eyeing a third consecutive term in the state. Here are the LIVE updates of the mega elections in these two states: 

-Office of Chief Electoral Officer: 50% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Madhya Pradesh 

-Office of Chief Electoral Officer: 58% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Mizoram 

-A 106-year-old woman after casting her vote in Kawrthah 

-49% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in Mizoram 

-One Election Commission official in Guna, and two in Indore have passed away due to cardiac arrest 

-21% voting recorded in Madhya Pradesh till 11 am Madhya Pradesh Elections

-A 101 year old woman after casting her vote in Agar Malwa, MP

-We’re 100% certain that BJP will form government with an absolute majority. We have set a target of 200 seats and our lakhs of volunteers are working to make it a reality: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan after casting his vote in Budhni: Shivraj Singh Chouhan

-15% voting recorded in Mizoram till 9 am,  Mizoram Elections LIVE 

-EVM is not working at polling booth number 178 in Dabra,Gwalior district 

-Congress leader Kamal Nath after casting his vote in Chhindwara 

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan prayed on the banks of Narmada river, in Budhni ahead of voting.Congress leader Kamal Nath also offered prayers at a Hanuman temple in Chhindwara."I have full faith in the people of Madhya Pradesh, they are simple and innocent people who have been robbed for a long time by the Bharatiya Janata Party," Kamal Nath said.In the previous election in 2013, Congress had fielded 40 candidates in Mizoram while it won 34 seats, whereas Mizo National Front (MNF) secured only five seats after contesting 31 seats. Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) had contested on eight seats but it managed to bag only one.Both Congress and MNF are contesting all 40 constituencies this time, while the BJP is fighting in 39 seats.