MP bypolls: Cong wins both Mungaoli and Kolaras

Bhopal, Feb 28 Congress's Brijendra Singh Yadav won the Mungaoli assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh by-elections, defeating the closest candidate by 2,124 votes, an official announced on Wednesday.

Securing 70,808 votes, Yadav edged past Bhai Sahab Deshraj Singh Yadav of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) who managed 68,684 votes. 

In Kolaras seat, Congress's Mahendra Ramsingh Khatora won the election by 8083 votes; Congress 82515 votes, beating  BJP's Devendra Kumar Jain Pattewale who got 74432 votes.

Counting of votes began at 8 a.m. for the assembly seat of Shivpuri district's Kolaras and Ashok Nagar's Mungaoli.