Myanmar parliament approves addition of one more ministry

Nay Pyi Taw: Myanmar's parliament on Tuesday approved the addition of the Ministry of the Office of State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi to its set-up, sources said. The addition of the new ministry, proposed by President U Htin Kyaw, has brought the total number of the ministries to 22 under the government, Xinhua news agency reported. Myanmar's new government, led by U Htin Kyaw, have reformed the ministries with 21 run by 18 ministers, reducing the number from 36 and 32 respectively in previous government. Some of the ministries were combined into one. The reformed ministries includes a new ministry of Ethnic Affairs. Of the ministers, Aung San Suu Kyi holds two more posts -- Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of the President's Office -- in addition to that of State Counsellor. Significantly, according to the 2008 constitution, the three ministries of home affairs, border affairs and defence are run by military personnel. The new government took office on April 1 after the handover of the duties of head of state from the previous U Thein Sein's government was complete on March 30.