Premier Futsal ropes in 13 stars, four coaches

Mumbai: The world's first ever multi-national Futsal league, Premier Futsal, announced on Sunday the signing of 13 more top futsal stars and four world-renowned coaches for the inaugural season starting this month. The roster of players announced included UEFA Champions League-winning Italian national Jairo Manoel dos Santos, two-time World Cup-winning Spaniard Francisco Ruiz Serrato, triple world champion Leandro Simi, and triple Copa Del Rey winner, twice UEFA futsal champion and twice world champion Gabriel da silva Dias. Legendary Spanish goalkeeper Luis Amado Tarodo also two-time world champion, five-time UEFA Futsal Championship winner, twice world champion and winner of the best goalkeeper of the world accolade was also announced. All players have committed to competing in Premier Futsal for five years and will be assigned a team in the upcoming player draft scheduled for later this month. Along with the players, the league also confirmed the participation of world-renowned international Futsal coaches in Italians, Max Bellarte and Sergio Tabbia, and Brazilians, Octavio Gomes De Oliveira Junior and two-time best coach of the year, Ney Pereira. The technical aspects of the league will be designed and overlooked by Douglas Reed, who joins as tournament technical commissioner. Reed, a full England Futsal International, has extensive experience in Futsal administration from around the world. The league, scheduled to start on July 15, has signed some of the best futsallers in the world -- spearheaded by the renowned Alessandro Rosa Vieira, fondly known as ‘Falcao’ -- and has even enticed iconic footballers like Paul Scholes, Deco and Michel Salgado to compete.