Rohit Sharma is the new captain of the Indian Team

New Delhi, Feb 24:  Indian Captain Virat Kohli has been busy since 2018. Previously the Indian team lost the Test series to South Africa with a 2-1 result but made come back to ODI with their win in first ever bilateral series in South Africa.The running Twenty20 series against the South African team is currently equal at 1-1.

However after this also, the Indian Team has no room for any rest. The schedule will be followed by 'Nidahas Trophy' involving Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, which will be starting on March 6 and end on March 18.

According to TOI, some top Indian cricketers could be given rest for the tri-nation tournament in Sri Lanka. These players include captain Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah.

If Kohli rests for the tournament, Rohit Sharma will be the candidate for the captain. 

There will be a total seven matches in the tournament. Sri Lanka and India will face-off in the first match in Colombo.