SC rejects Congress MPs petition on CJI Dipak Misra's impeachment

New Delhi, May 8: Supreme Court dismissed the petitions of two Rajya Sabha Congress Parliamentarians Pratap Singh Bajwa and Amee Harshadray Yajnik as withdrawn. They had approached the SC challenging Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu's dismissal of the impeachment motion against CJI Dipak Misra.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman had on April 23 rejected the notice, given by opposition parties led by the Congress for impeachment of the chief justice of India, saying there was "no proven misbehaviour".

Seven opposition parties led by the Congress had in April third week moved a notice before the Chairman for impeachment of the CJI on five grounds of "misbehaviour".

This was the first time that an impeachment notice has been filed against a sitting CJI.

Rajya Sabha MPs Partap Singh Bajwa from Punjab and Amee Harshadray Yajni, who is from Gujarat, today moved the apex court challenging the rejection.