Shekhar, Suvrajit win Round Two of Durgapur car rally

Durgapur: Rallyists Shekhar Choudhury and Suvrajit Dutta braved the challenging Durgapur terrain to emerge winners of the East Zone Round Two of the FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship (INTSDRC) here.

The duo was awarded the winners' trophy and prize money of Rs 25,000 on Saturday by Arindam Ghosh, Director, Ramakrishna Race Performance Management (RRPM) -- the clerk of the course of this rally.

More than their rivals, Shekhar and Suvrajit negated the deceptive roads laden with tricky passage and self time controls to claim victory with a penalty of 00:06:17.5 at the thrilling rally.

This was the fourth event of the championship and the deciding event for choosing the top seven teams from this zone which would qualify for the national finals to be held on completion of all zonal rounds.

Speaking about the event, Ghosh said: "The Rally de Bengal has lived up to its expectations and has been appreciated by all the competitors. We have now come to halfway point of the Championship with the end of the North and East Zone round of events."

"We move on to the South Zone next followed by the West to choose the remaining 14 qualifiers for the National finals."

Among other 16 participants vying for a place in the final were disqualified for missing the passage controls.

There were also cases of competitors complaining of the speed manuals being updated without their knowledge.