Singapore Open golf tourney to tee off on Jan 19

Sentosa (Singapore) : The $1 million Singapore Open will tee off on January 19 at the Serapong Course at Sentosa Golf Club -- the event's traditional home since 2005, the organisers announced on Monday. Sanctioned by the Asian Tour and Japan Golf Tour Organisation (JGTO), the tournament will enter its 51st edition next year.  "The return of the Singapore Open this year for the first time since 2012 reminded everyone why it is one of the region's best tournament's and we are excited to be able to start revealing details about next season," Singapore Golf Association (SGA) President Bob Tan said. "Next year will be the 51st Singapore Open and another fine championship will be delivered along with our friends on the Asian Tour and Japan Golf Tour Organisation." The tournament, which was restarted this January after almost a decade, was headlined by then world number one Jordan Spieth from US as well as Europe's Ryder Cup captain Darren Clarke from Northern Ireland, Korean Y.E. Yang, the first Asian to win a Major, and his young compatriot Ben An, one of the game's most exciting young players. Welsh Ryder Cup star Jamie Donaldson also competed. "Over the next few months we will reveal the star players for the 2017 Singapore Open in addition to some new initiatives around the event," said Patrick Feizal Joyce, vice president, golf, Lagardère Sports. "The tournament is well known for attracting the best golfers in the world and this will certainly be the case next year. Preparations for next year's tournament started as soon as this year's was over and we are very confident of staging another impressive national Open of Singapore." The Singapore Open was first played in 1961 and boasts an esteemed list of past champions including Australian Adam Scott, who has won the event a record three times in 2005, 2006 and 2010. Two-major winner Angel Cabrera of Argentina triumphed in 2007, India's Jeev Milkha Singh took top spot the following year while Ryder Cup star Ian Poulter from England won in 2009 and Italian teenager Matteo Manassero was victorious in 2012.