Sreejesh to lead India at Rio; Sardar retains place in squad

New Delhi: Star goalkeeper P.R Sreejesh was on Tuesday handed over the mantle of the Indian men's hockey team replacing Sardar Singh, who though retains his place in the squad for the upcoming Rio Olympics, starting August 5. In the Rio squad announced by Hockey India (HI) here, injured defender Birendra Lakra missed the bus while Surender Kumar has been named his replacement. Sreejesh led the Roelant Oltmans-coached side to a silver medal at the Champions Trophy in London in June. Team: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, V.R. Raghunath, S.K. Uthappa, P.R. Sreejesh (Captain), Danish Mujtaba, Devinder Walmiki, S.V. Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmiah. Standbyes: Pardeep Mor, Vikash Dahiya.