Sushma Swaraj in new 29-member BJP national council


Bhopal: Senior BJP leader and Exteral Affairs minister Sushma Swaraj was among the party's 29-member national council officially announced elected here on Tuesday, with Nand Kumar Singh Chouhan re-elected as party's Madhya Pradesh unit chief. Nominations for the membership of the national council were filed on Monday. Sushma Swaraj, Raghunandan Sharma, Jaiprakash Patel, Kailash Vijayvargiya, Motilal Tiwari, Vikram Verma, Omprakash Sakhlecha, Sunderlal Patwa, Kailash Narayan Sarang, Ajay Vishnoi, Dheeraj Patairiya, Prahalad Patel, Prabhat Jha, Narender Singh Tomar, Anup Mishra, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Kailash Joshi, Ravendra Mishr, and Rakesh Singh were elected in the general category. Four others were elected in the Scheduled Caste category, and six in the Janjati Varg in the national council. Nand Kumar Singh Chouhan's re-election as the state unit head was announced by party's central poll Observer Ramdas Agarwal. "Since Nand Kumar Singh Chouhan was the only person who filed nomination for the post of state unit head, he is declared elected." For the national council, Agarwal said, "the 29 members are declared elected unopposed".