Women cricketers Bhangra before World Cup...VIDEO

Image credit-Twitter


New Delhi, Nov 4: Women's ICC World T20 which is scheduled to start from November 9. With just five days away Indian women's cricket team seems to be no pressure or in a mood to take any stress at all.

In fact the team was seen enjoying themselves revealed by the tweet posted by the official twitter handle of ICC World T20. Going by the tweet, Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur along with Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy and Jemimah Rodrigues were seen dancing.

The ICC World T20 is scheduled to take place in the West Indies from November 9 to November 24.

India team ranked fourth in T20 format, will be aiming to do better compared to the last time in 2016 when the team failed to reach the semifinals even when the tournament was held in India.

"The BCCI has appointed Ramesh Powar as head coach of the Indian women's team. Powar has now been handed over full time duties till November 30, 2018," a BCCI statement confirmed.The 40-year-old Powar was initially appointed interim coach last month, a week after former first-class cricketer Tushar Arothe submitted his papers citing personal reasons.The upcoming tour of Sri Lanka will be the first assignment for Powar as head coach."His term will include the tour to Sri Lanka in September, a bilateral series in the West Indies in October followed by the ICC Women's World T20 in the West Indies in November," the statement further said.The T20 World Cup, starting November 9 will see India facing New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia and one of the qualifying teams in the league stage. 

Indian team is placed in Group B along with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland.  Group A has England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and defending champions West Indies.

India Women’s team: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy

News24 Bureau